Monroe Legacy

Unbroken Promise

BOOK 1 of the Monroe Legacy Series

What began with a kiss ended in a promise. But when tragedy strikes, the well-intended oath is broken.


Back Cover Copy

Seattle logger Zane Montgomery has sacrificed everything, even the woman he loved, for the chance to start a business and thereby free his family from the employment of a crooked logger. When his uncle in Oregon has a heart attack, Zane puts his plans on hold and traveled the two-hundred miles south. There he finds the needs are great, not only for his uncle but for the neighbor lady who he’d once believed would be his wife.

Orphaned as a child and widowed at age twenty, Lida Geary has learned the person she can most count on is herself. When Zane returns, Lida simply wants to pay off the mortgage on her adopted parents’ home and return to California, but Zane offers a glimpse of the girl who used to dream. Lida must decide if she can risk her heart again by trusting Zane and God for her happily ever after ending. Meanwhile, forces back in Seattle threaten Zane’s family’s livelihood and well being. Will he stay in Oregon to help his uncle and restore Lida’s trust in him, or return to the big city for duty’s sake?


Unbroken Promise won first place historical romance in the 2019 Phoenix Rattler Writing Contest. Christian Writers of the West, CWOW – Arizona’s ACFW affiliate club and was a finalist in the 2019 ACFW First Impressions Contest.

Series details

Monroe Legacy  Series is a clean read historical romance set in the early 1900’s. The books are linked by three things, 1) characters heroes are the sons of a conman who didn’t take care of any of the kids, 2) each story theme revolves around the concept that when parents fail their children, God is faithful [ref. Psalms 27:10], and 3) the geographical area of the northwest, including Washington, Oregon, and Idaho.

Link to Lone Star Beginnings Series.

Link to Crossing Over Trilogy