Lone Star Beginnings Series


Book 1: The Lone Star Beginnings Series

He must reckon with all he sought to escape when she redefines his dreams.


Back Cover Copy

1850: Texas born and bred, Joseph Dannon is as tough as the wild country he loves. Battling the demons of his past, he has found a home at the Quitman Ranch and a dream of starting his own horse ranch. That dream pivots on the procurement of the Andalusian stallion he is saving to purchase.

Ellena Bradbury has always been second-best to her sister, but at last she has found a purpose. Her dream of joining her father’s horse breeding business is coming true. When her family travels to Waco Village, she discovers a horse that could secure her place in her father’s business—a magnificent Spanish Andalusian stallion.

Unknown to the sparring couple, another contender for the horse threatens more than Joseph and Ellena’s dreams, and they find themselves in mortal danger. Joseph is brought to reckon with his past, including loyalty to his family. Amid the struggle to survive and seek justice, a romance sparks. If Ellena discloses the secret behind an attack that nearly ended both their lives, will Joseph still want her? Joseph is torn between his obligations, the fulfillment of his dream, and love for a woman he could never win.

The Cowboy’s Reckoning is approx. 100k words long, and has been through ACFW Scribes 219 and Scribes Story Spinners critique groups. This completed manuscript is available upon request.

About the series:

The Lone Star Beginnings Series is a historical romance series spanning from 1852-1870’s. Each romantic pair struggles to overcome obstacles, yet triumph and experience a Christ-centered love. Books include: The Soldier’s Undoing, The Wrangler’s Redemption, and The Drifter’s Belonging.


Link to Monroe Legacy Series

Link to Crossing Over Trilogy

 KHakwins logo